Web Accessibility FAQ


Q. Why do I need a web-accessible website?
A. a. Google loves a web-accessible website
b. You will get more customers
c. Don't get a lawsuit, and although no one can guarantee that you will not get a lawsuit it is less likely that you will when you have a web accessibility plugin installed on your website and in the event that you do you are more likely to win in court.

Q. What is the web accessible design package?
We design a beautiful custom web design with color contrasts and high-resolution elements with a clean design that works seamlessly with our plugin.

Q. How many people are with disabilities?
One billion people in the world experience some sort of disability.

Q. What is the “508 Refresh”?
A. In January 2017, the U.S. Access Board published a final rule updating accessibility requirements for information and communication technology (ICT) covered by Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. The Rehabilitation Act is a federal law which requires programs and activities funded by federal agencies to be accessible to people with disabilities, including federal employees and members of the public. Section 508 covers ICT developed, procured, maintained, or used by federal agencies.

Q. What was added in Revised 508 Standards?
Enhancing accessibility to ICT for people with disabilities;
Making the requirements easier to understand and follow;
Updating the requirements to stay abreast of the ever-changing nature of the technologies covered; and
Harmonizing the requirements with other standards in the U.S. and abroad.
Federal agencies and contractors must comply with the Revised 508 Standards beginning on January 18, 2018. The Original 508 Standards remain in place until then.

Q. What are the major changes in the Revised 508 Standards?
A. Focus on Functionality - Organizes by functionality instead of product type, to keep pace with advances in technology. Industry Alignment - Incorporates Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), an international community that creates web standards. Clarifies applicability to websites, electronic documents, and software. Content Accessibility - Requires all public-facing official agency business content, as well as specific categories of non-public-facing content that is official agency business, to be accessible.

Synchronized Tools and Tech - Clarifies that software and operating systems must interoperate with assistive technology. Expanded Marketplace - Incorporates by reference selected international standards like WCAG 2.0, and harmonizes with European Commission ICT Standards (EN 301 549), to create a larger marketplace of accessibility solutions.

Q. What is in the Accessibility Requirements Tool?
A. GSA is developing the Accessibility Requirements Tool (ART), (formerly known as the Buy Accessible Wizard), to assist agencies with accessible procurements effective after January 2018. ART helps federal government acquisition officials determine:

If Section 508 applies to a particular product or service;
What specific Section 508 standards apply for particular ICT products and services; and
How to document specific ICT accessibility requirements and Section 508 compliance.

(800) 970-3241

The Offical Website, EST. 2009 - TERMS 
© Copyright - All rights reserved.